top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoshua Curtis

Project proposal

For this project I am venturing towards the theme of power over ordinary people in world. I am initially looking at three types of controlling power. These include ideological, economic and military. I plan to collect images of symbols linked to the three types of power listed above. I am going to develop these into visual imagery.

I plan to explore the 3-D realm of processes for example casting forms through gel moulds. Other 3-D materials I would like to try are concrete and plaster. I play to explore these materials by experimentation and casting a wooden sword. After each sample I will evaluate the process, that the materials have been affective or not. I will relate artist. How different materials represent various associations. I will experiment with locating the forms and symbols I make, combining those with different places, materials and objects. I will record these experiments to help my creative decisions. I will also use sculpture with my first outcomes initially, then develop outcomes through Photoshop by abstracting simple shapes from images researched on the types of power I want to explore. I plan to look at various artists that connect to those controlling manipulation:

Economic

J.S. Boggs with his (“drawn money”)

Damian Hirst- (Diamond Skull)

Jeff Koons (Ornaments)

Military

David Cerny (Pink Tank)

Peter Mounkuin(Tank)

Ideological

Gilbert and George

Andy Warhol

I visited YouTube to research ideology and interviews that will help me to learn new perspectives and gain a better understanding of history to where were heading ideological as an angle nation within my research that impact everything from the traditional sense to the contemporary reasons against it.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page