top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoshua Curtis

Artist Inspiration

The artists I am inspired by tend to make a comment about consumerism or politics. Andy Warhol for example, made work about consumerism and popular culture. I am mainly influenced by his basic use of colour and the bright but sometimes limited colour palette. His work is often simple, copying the same image which he then fills with bold primary and secondary colours. The simple bright colours are eye catching and are easily recognisable as Warhol’s work and its links to Pop Art. My own execution of this colour palette has sinister undertones through cynical nihilism of a dystopian context. In my earlier work I often made use of bold colour when referencing flags and political parties, it made for an uneasy array of basic colours. In Warhol’s work ‘Mao,’ he has added bright colour to Mao’s portrait, it makes a negative image appear positive just by changing the colours. Warhol was interested in the event that led to President Nixon meeting Mao Zedong and ending years of diplomatic isolation. Warhol very much wanted to make work based on the world around him and what was happening at the time. In my opinion, by using such bright colours it makes the situation seem better than it actually was. For me, colour provides a mask for my work, it covers a problem. In my work, colours are used to suggest a division of some kind. I use colours to separate out individual political parties and political leanings. For example, my board game suggested individual players and the Connect-4 game I adapted included coloured pieces that represented political parties.




Zhang Hongtu Chairman Mao (12 works) 1989


Another artist who has influenced my work is Tony Cragg. His use of ready-mades references the mass produced and consumerism. I have used readymades a lot within my work, more recently casting found objects and using them to make concrete casts. I have looked at Cragg’s work a lot to get inspiration for how he displays his readymades and arranges it into formations. In ‘Britain seen from the North,’ Cragg has arranged plastic waste into the shape of Britain and a figure. The figure represents Cragg who lives in Germany and is viewing Britain as though he is an outsider. This work was inspired by a visit Cragg made to Britain in 1981 when he felt Britain was going through some social and economic difficulties. I have used readymade objects and adapted them to get a point across. I have painted the Union Jack onto some garden shears to make a comment about the situation between Europe and Britain.


Tony Cragg 'Britain Seen from the North' 1981



I’m inspired by Blek, by his use of stencil spray-paint that he utilises together. His early works are rough and minimalist by his small use of colour and limited palette. His works are anti-establishment and he places tags around urban areas displaying disgust nihilistic, filthy view of the surrounding grey jungle of depression. His rats are extremely satirical for the viewer. However, they could be mistaken for shadows of actual vermin. In comparison to my own stencils, his style is mainly basic stencil forms, I tend to make more detailed stencils. My stencils have been inspired by Blek Le Rat, by the definition of being the first one to do spray-painted stencils. His work precursors my older work from the jigsaw, the two eggs, the flag masks, the concrete slabs these having a political view linking to Europe. Again, I used spray-paints with stencils this time with book pages and masking tape. “To me, the most interesting aspect of street art is the constant opportunities to be surprised and/or amazed. I lose interest when something becomes routine”- Blek Le Rat.



Blek le Rat ''Ratical'' (2017)







10 views0 comments
bottom of page