top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoshua Curtis

Final Evaluation



I believe my collection of chosen works on display have been successful in the sense that the collection of colours and dyed book paper of one of them helps it to stand out due to the fact that the sun radiation yellows the pages to make them look older than they are. The composition of the stencils are sprayed on the book paper looking rough, fearful to the cure of my subject of ideological power; a Multi-national corporation's hypocrisy through spheres of acquisition for tainted entertainment by including contemporary regressive activism. Desecrating the audience's intelligence. The Mickey and Thanos compilation, suits my perspective of the Disney Corporations mascot controlling power dismantling brought IPS or franchises, which are bending for a Chinese audience thus the hypocrisy. In which on get 25% of the money back. I chose Winnie The Pooh because of the disapproval and hatred of this meme in which the Chinese population placed his face on the Disney yellow bear from the hundred-acre wood. This meme was wiped clean from the web to a degree I could not find many images. The Disney Castles’ points heading outward displays a structured cancer restraining free thought of ideas for ideological pandering greed from west to east. J.J. Abrams a grim reaper upside down as a destroyer of franchises beside Spielberg’s former assistant Kathleen Kennedy wearing her feminist agenda shirt undermining Lucas' space opera with Emperor Palpatine's face fits perfectly.

I chose to work with book pages from two Disney Star Wars books, I used most of the pages from the books as a background for my stencils. The books are aimed at slightly older children, I liked the look of the pages and the monochrome colours which would help the colours of my stencils stand out.

I wanted to have a more satirical stencil of J.J. Abrams however the spray-paint stuck to the book paper. Thus, it was disintegrating after it dried to the paper. The one that combined both Mickey and Thanos without the Hollywood sign for the legs looks off since I have done it at least three times before. The same arrangement contains a stencil print of Kennedy in orange which looks out of place with the brighter tones of the colour palette. I did do a darker toned colour palette since I had minimised the use of colours to fit in with what I wanted the work to look like.

If I were to make any changes to my work, I would include graphic imagery of the Disney castle behind a Re-education camp from the northwest China in which sterilisation is taking place. I would also create a Gelfex form of a brick and cast it into concrete and buy several of the same type of style. This would be to create an uneven rough discoloured wall of my work contained in this project into fragments onto one side of the bricks. I would call it ‘Build the wall’.

To develop my work further, I would have Disney's anti-racist (booklet) sentiment injected into work because it feels like some things are missing. I would also introduce Peterson as a red skull from Coates fake Captain America comic run in issue 28. To have Peterson's face on red skull as a stencil saying helpful things, this is a newer meme than Winnie The Pooh.

If I were to approach this project again, I would make concrete bricks and build a half-finished wall that you can walk around. I would have combined readymade red bricks with some of my own handmade concrete brick to comment on the mass produced compared to the manmade, a theme I am referencing in my work. I would then spray paint imagery onto paper and stick these against the wall with the spray paint spreading onto the wall itself.

I feel that the audience often focuses on nostalgia and references to childhood. They mainly focus on the characters that they see and the connotations those characters have. I would perhaps consider making the work a little more graphic and use more thought provoking imagery, for example referencing the boy in striped pyjamas imagery that might be more hard hitting from an audience point of view.

I did face some technical challenges whilst making some of my stencils because I left my stencils to dry for too long and they got stuck to the background paper. The work can be very fragile and is prone to tearing. To problem solve this I would need to remove the stencil immediately so that it doesn’t get stuck down and also avoid the paint drying for too long.


The spray cans could also be hard to use, the nozzles would get blocked and also newer can lids would be difficult to control and get an even spread of paint over my stencils. To make it easier to use I would spray the paint from further away and use less paint than before to get a more even distribution of paint.


For my final show, I encountered problems with gravity and the use of masking tape. The tape would get dirty easily and then not hold the pictures in place. I ended up using more tape to secure my work in place. I should have explored alternatives for putting my work up such as using pins or foam pads to hold it in place. This might have looked a bit neater, I could have taken my time a little when putting my work up to get it more precise.




13 views0 comments
bottom of page